Blog / The BIG list of Lorum Ipsum Generators

One of the most important parts of the website development process is content generation. It’s key for us to have copy on the page in order to complete the design details that make a site look polished.

We’ve often found this to be a challenge for our clients. Sometimes it’s hard to write content without being able to see the pages in place, and for other clients a complex review process with many stakeholders holds them back.

We understand that this situation sometimes can’t be avoided, but it doesn’t change the fact that we need words on the page to work with. Enter lorem ipsum. Or more specifically: 

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Nullam luctus massa in velit suscipit eget tristique dolor elementum. Phasellus mi diam, pharetra eu convallis nec, faucibus quis orci. Maecenas at erat nisi, a sodales ante. Sed ut tellus sem, vel gravida ipsum. Suspendisse vehicula odio non augue ornare a sodales magna sagittis.

You may have seen this before. It’s been in use for years -- since the 1500’s in fact. The source material has actually been identified as sections 1.10.32 and 1.10.33 of "de Finibus Bonorum et Malorum" (The Extremes of Good and Evil) by Cicero, written in 45 BC (www.lipsum.com).

Agentic has used this copy many times during site development -- so many times that we started looking for options to keep things fresh and fun for our designers (and our clients). With this, as with so many other things, the internet didn’t disappoint.

We’ve collected here a number of different placeholder text generators, some of which you may have seen in work we’ve done for you. We’ll add new ones to this list as we find them and if you have a favorite please let us know. Hopefully we’ll use it in a project together soon!

In closing, lollipop cupcake biscuit fruitcake. Macaroon brownie apple pie carrot cake. Applicake tiramisu applicake sweet chocolate cake cookie.

 

The BIG List of Lorem Ipsum Generators

 

The Classic: http://www.lipsum.com/

Industry-based Ipsum: http://notloremipsum.com/


Food Based

With Extra Bacon: http://baconipsum.com/

Sugar Coated: http://cupcakeipsum.com/

Ipsum, Straight Up: http://liquoripsum.com/

On A Cleanse: http://veganipsum.com/

Ipsum Of The Sea: http://tunaipsum.com/

Beer Ipsum: http://beeripsum.com/


Celebrity (Note: NSFW)

Royale With Ipsum : http://slipsum.com/

The First Rule of Lorem Ipsum Is You Never Talk About Lorem Ipsum:
http://durdenipsum.com/

The Ipsum Abides: http://lebowskiipsum.com/

 

Television

Fillerama: http://chrisvalleskey.com/fillerama/

Simpson Ipsum: http://simpsonipsum.com/

F**k Lorem Ipsum: http://fucklorem.com/ (NSFW)


Trends

You Probably Haven’t Heard Of Ipsum: http://hipsteripsum.me/

BRAIIIIINNNNSSSSS!!!! http://www.zombieipsum.com/

I Can Haz Ipsum? http://gagipsum.com/

Fashion Ipsum: http://www.fashionipsum.co.uk/

Space Ipsum: http://spaceipsum.com/

Bluth Ipsum: http://bluthipsum.com/

Baseball Ipsum: http://baseballipsum.apphb.com/

Comic Ipsum: http://comicipsum.com/

  

Old Skool

Specifically For Nerds: http://chrisvalleskey.com/fillerama/


Technology

Ipsum In SPAAAAACE! http://spaceipsum.com/

Monetize The Ipsum: http://web20ipsum.com/

Open Source Ipsum: http://drupal-ipsum.com/

HTML Ipsum: http://html-ipsum.com/

 

Educated

Ipsum Lit: http://www.fillerati.com/

Even More Ipsum Lit: http://www.blindtextgenerator.com/lorem-ipsum

Masterpiece Ipsum: http://www.malevole.com/mv/misc/text/ 

Blind Text Generator: http://www.blindtextgenerator.com/lorem-ipsum

 

Cultural

Kiss The Ipsum: http://frontendpost.com/newfieipsum/

Down Under Ipsum: http://www.boganipsum.com/

Lorem Ipsum en Espanol: http://www.quijotipsum.com/

Greeking Machine: http://www.duckisland.com/GreekMachine.asp

Gangsta Lorem Ipsum: http://lorizzle.nl/ 

 

Political

United Ipsums: http://unitedipsums.com/

Obama Ipsum: http://obamaipsum.com/


Sources
Agentic team
http://www.webresourcesdepot.com/got-bored-of-lorem-ipsum-22-different-alternatives-for-placeholder-text/
http://www.splashnology.com/article/30-alternatives-to-lorem-ipsum/4897/

Comments

Leave a comment

(If you're a human, don't change the following field)
Your first name.
(If you're a human, don't change the following field)
Your first name.
(If you're a human, don't change the following field)
Your first name.

Sign up for updates